Wymondham was again the venue for Melton Olympic mid- week time trial, Dry conditions for a change greeted the riders, although a strong breeze meant that really fast times were unlikely, Marc Brealey pushed through the windy conditions to record the quickest time winning in 23 mins 55 seconds, Chris Walker again showed his class to finish second 24 mins 27 secs. Mick Stevens completed the podium places in 25mins 33 secs. On handicap times Gary Ison took yet another victory, Chris Walker second with Mick Stevens again coming in third.
As ever all riders would like to thank Norman, and Bill for time keeping and starting, and James Ison, Paul Halford, Eddy Moran, Bill and Tina Vetcher for Marshal duties,
It was a busy weekend for Meltons racers as Leicester Forrest Cycling Club hosted an open 50 mile time trial on the A46, James Ison finished in 1 Hour 54 mins 46 secs, to finish overall in 5th place, making him Melton’s 50 mile senior champion. Stuart Faver took the veterans title in a time of 2 hours 3 mins 39 secs. Evergreen John Atkin was the next Melton rider in 2 hours 22 mins 19 secs.
Overall winner was Mathew Bottrill ! hour 42 mins 47 secs.
Mick Stevens travelled to Wales to defend his National 50 Mile time trial title, as usual Mick gave it his all, but on a very tough and windy day couldn’t produce the fireworks of last year Mick finishing in 2 hours 9 mins 34 secs, Congratulations must go to the victor Marcin Bialoblocki who finished over 3 mins clear of the field to be crowed national champion.